Susan Wojcicki, the woman in tech I admire the most.

Susan Wojcicki, the woman in tech I admire the most.

·

3 min read

#WomenWhoTech

“Life doesn’t always present you with the perfect opportunity at the perfect time. Opportunities come when you least expect them, or when you’re not ready for them. Rarely are opportunities presented to you in the perfect way, in a nice little box with a yellow bow on top. Opportunities, the good ones, they’re messy and confusing and hard to recognize. They’re risky. They challenge you.”

These are not my words, they are the words of one of the world's most famous and respected women in tech industries, Susan Wojcicki, CEO of the world's most used video streaming app, YouTube. Since I started coding/developing and got involved in tech industry, I have been influenced by a lot of people and I can't deny the fact that many of them are in fact women whom I really look up to. In this blog I'll try to talk about one of them and the one I respect the most, Susan Wojcicki, so sit tight and make sure you read it till end :)

The women in tech I admire the most is in fact Susan Wojcicki, as a kid I always wondered who are the people working behind YouTube, and I was so curious that I ended up searching it on Google and it was then that I found out about her and started admiring her. She has an immense contribution to today's tech world, she has been involved in founding of Google, and became the CEO of YouTube in 2014. Her net worth in nearly $815 million as of 2022 and she’s an advocate for extending paid family leave and opposing gender discrimination in tech companies. She's currently ranked #41 on Forbes' list of America's Self-Made Women. She was also ranked #7 on Forbes' most powerful women list in 2018.

She was hired in Google in 1999, and has a very strong contribution in where Google stands in today's tech world. She has worked on AdSense, Google Analytics, Google Books, Google Images and was the one who advocated for the $1.65 billion acquisition of YouTube, which she has run since 2014. Apart from contributions in tech industry, Susan is also actively working on bringing more women in the tech industry, According to her,

"Tech is as an incredible force that will change our world in ways we can't anticipate. If that force is only 20 to 30% women, that is a problem."

She's continuously working on ways to empower women and bring more and more woman in the tech industry, she wants YouTube to be a diverse workforce and encourages women to get into tech. She's one of the most powerful women in the world and is an example of what women can achieve if they are given a chance to show it. Let's all believe in women's power and bring them forward and work together to achieve this dream where women not only in the tech field but in all the fields are respected and admired by everyone.

I'm dedicating this article to all the #WomanWhoTech I appreciate it if you made it to the end, thank you so much for reading this blog :)